September 21, 2023
Annapolis, US 75 F

Board Of Education Elects Patricia Nalley President

From the Anne Arundel County Public Schools:

The Anne Arundel County Board of Education today elected Patricia Nalley as president and Teresa Milio Birge as vice president for the 2010-2011 school year.

Nalley was appointed to the Board in July 2007, and served as the Board’s vice president in the 2009-2010 school year. A longtime educator, she served as an elementary school teacher for 31 years. She also served 12 years in elementary administration, retiring as principal of Davidsonville Elementary School after nine years. She oversaw the opening of the new Davidsonville Elementary School in 2002 and was nominated for The Washington Post’s Distinguished Educational Leadership Award in the same year.

Birge was appointed to the Board in July 2008, and has lived in the county for more than 35 years. A graduate of Arundel High School, she lives in Seven Oaks with her husband and two young children.

The meeting was the first for student Board member Katharine Scruggs, who is the first South River High School student to serve as student member. Also serving on the Board are Victor E. Bernson, Jr. of Millersville, Kevin Jackson of Edgewater, Eugene Peterson of Russett, and Andrew Pruski of Gambrills. Ned Carey of Brooklyn Park and Enrique Melendez of Annapolis held seats at today’s meeting, but their terms have expired and they will step down when Governor Martin O’Malley makes two new appointments to the Board, a move expected before the August 18 Board meeting.

Previous Article

Chesapeake Bay Trust Releases First-Ever Mobile App Field Guide For Bay Watershed

Next Article

Regional Recap, July 8, 2010

You might be interested in …