Herb McMillan For Anne Arundel County Executive
--> Annapolis Restaurant Week <-----
--> <-----
--> Wes Adams For Anne Arundel Conty Circuit Court Judge <-----
Insert future code here--> 1-1 to 1-31 Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
STANDARD HERMAN AD--> Anne Arundel County Stop Smoking <-----
Herrmann 40--> “Herrmann <-----
MD Higher Education Commission Near Completer
Insert future code here
1-14-22 to 3-8-22 <------
-- October 21 - 1-14-22 <---------
Orioles Bud april 2020 to Sept 2020
“Nationals October 2019

Annapolis Aldermanic Races

| November 04, 2009, 06:17 PM | 0 Comments

The Nitty Gritty Results

Ward 1. This is the area typically referred to as “downtown”.  Dick Israel(D) was running unopposed and managed to score 99.5% of the vote.

Ward 2. This is the areas typically called “West Annapolis” . Fred Paone (R) was also running unopposed and he was able to claim 100% of the vote.

Ward 3. This is the West Street Corridor and much of the Parole area of Annapolis. Incumbent Classie Hoyle (D) secured 59.7% of the vote and her opponent Scott Bowling (R) received 40.3%.

Ward 4. This area covers the Homewood neighborhoods along with the area behind the Safeway on Forest Drive. It is hard to describe the actual boundaries of the ward. Sheila Finlayson (D) was running unopposed and she received 98.3% of the vote.

Ward 5. This is the Hunt Meadow area as well as the neighborhoods along Hilltop Lane near Truxton Park. This was won by Mat Silverman (D) with 59.3%. Jim Conley (R) received 40.7% of the vote. It shoudl ne noted that this ward typically is considered a “Republican” ward.

Ward 6. Also a difficult ward to describe, but butts up to Eastport and extends to the Robinwood Community along Forest Drive. This race was won by Kenny Kirby (D) with 59.4% of the vote. His challenger, Greg Stiverson (R), received 40.6%.

Ward 7. This ward is the Edgewood Road neighborhoods as well and the neighborhoods on either side of Bay Ridge Road extending into Eastport. This was the closest contested race with Ian Pfeiffer (D) capturing 52.8% of the vote and his opponent, Jennifer Monteith (R), capturing 47.2%.

Ward 8. This is the area typically referred to as “Eastport”. Incumbent Ross Arnett (D) was the victor with 53.6% of the vote and his challenger, Rock Toews (R) was close behind with 46.4%.

Tags: , ,


About the Author - John Frenaye

John is the publisher and editor of Eye On Annapolis. As a resident and business owner in Anne Arundel County for nearly 25 years, he realized that there was something missing in terms of community news–and Eye On Annapolis was born in late spring 2009.

John’s background is in the travel industry as a business owner, industry speaker, and travel writer. In terms of blogging and social media, he cut his teeth with MSNBC.com.

Connect with the Author

Author's Website Facebook Twitter rss feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.