Baysox have full lineup of promotions this season

| March 20, 2014 | 0 Comments

Baysox LogoThe Bowie Baysox announce today the full promotional schedule for the 2014 season. The schedule includes 18 fireworks nights, a number of family-friendly events, multiple giveaways, recurring weekday events and a wide variety of fun theme nights. 

Baysox Promotions Manager Chris Rogers is excited to unveil some new theme nights this season. “The fireworks nights are always fan favorites, but we have plenty of other great events planned this season to ensure our fans are always entertained,” Rogers said.  “The World Cup only comes around once every four years so we are certainly not going to miss an opportunity to break out the vuvuzelas and celebrate international soccer in style. Fans may also want to ride down in their very own Batmobile, or at least see an authentic replica, as we celebrate the 75th anniversary of Batman on Superhero Night in July.”

The 2014 promo schedule is a mixture of popular events from past seasons and new ideas that everyone is sure to enjoy. The popular Star Wars Night with actors in movie quality costumes is back along with a new and improved Mustache Mania Night that will feature a celebration of Charlie Chaplin’s 125th birthday. New in 2014, the Mother/Son Night Out will be joining the always popular Daddy/Daughter Date Night on the schedule along with a Baysox concerted effort to Knock Cancer Out of the Park in May and a tribute to new host of “The Tonight Show” Jimmy Fallon in July.

While the whole family can enjoy fireworks, the Baysox have a slew of activities planned for younger fans. On Kid’s Opening Night in April, there will be a book giveaway presented by Scholastic plus free raffles and unique ballpark experiences just for kids. Later in the season, kids can learn to play tennis with the United States Tennis Association on Aces & Bases night, where there will be a tennis beach ball giveaway. In addition to specific theme nights, younger fans can enjoy special exclusive events for members of Louie’s Kids Club each month of the season. Back for a second season, all Kids Club members can again eat free on Sundays with a special ticket purchased online in advance. Kids Club membership is free and more information is available at www.baysox.com.

Louie’s Kids Club 2014 Events:

Sat.     April 19           Spring Fling & Egg Hunt                                      12:00 p.m.

Sun.    May 4              Baseball Mini-Camp                                              12-1 p.m. 

Sat.     June 21          Louie’s Birthday Bash                                          5:00 p.m.

Sat.     July 26            Superhero Night & Rocknoceros concert      4:15 p.m.

Sun.    Aug. 3             Movie Night                                                              3:30 p.m.

The Baysox have weekly recurring promotions that last throughout the season.  Monday nights are Mutt Mondays, where fans can bring their dogs to the game and each night will celebrate a different famous dog.  On Tailgate Tuesdays, fans can enter the ballpark early for batting practice and enjoy $2 draft beer specials in the Bud Light Picnic Pavilion from 5 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. On Tuesday, fans can also enjoy Dollar Dog Night where Esskay hot dogs are just $1 from the time the main gates open until the end of the 4th inning (Limit 2 hot dogs per person, per transaction). One Wednesday of every month is Military Appreciation Night, where anyone able to show proof of military service can purchase a box seat ticket for $8 and every Saturday game (except Sat. Apr. 19) concludes with postgame fireworks. 

Each month of the season also features a beer dinner in the climate-controlled Diamond View Restaurant. Tickets include a two-hour all-you-can-eat buffet and three hour open bar. Tickets for the beer dinners must be ordered at least 48 hours before the event. For more information or to order tickets, fans may call (301) 464-4880. 

Complete schedule of 2014 Beer Dinners:

Wed. April 23 –          Around the World  

Thu. May 22 –             Celebrate Maryland

Wed. June 25 –          Bull & Oyster Roast

Thu. July 24 –             German Bierstube

Wed. Aug. 20 –          Football Kick Off

Returning for the 2014 season is the Baysox Silver Sox Senior Club, sponsored by Hearing Professionals. The Silver Sox program is free to join and open to anyone age 55 and older. Throughout the season, the team is hosting five exclusive events for members of the Silver Sox program. Tickets to each event are $17 and include: suite level seating, a two-hour all-you-can-eat pasta bar, cookies and unlimited iced tea & lemonade. For more information about joining the Silver Sox program, visit www.baysox.com or call 301-805-6000.

Complete schedule of 2014 Silver Sox Events:

Thu. April 17 –            Q & A Session with Baysox Manager Gary Kendall

Wed. May 21 –           Variety Show with Matt Macis

Thu. June 12 –            Baysox Player Q & A Session

Wed. July 2 –              Casino Night

Thu. Aug. 17 –            Bring Your Grandkids Night

 

Other notable promotions in 2014

Game times at 6:35 p.m. unless otherwise noted

Thursday, April 3 – Opening Night, 2014 Magnet Schedule Giveaway presented by Mr. Handyman

Friday, April 4 – Kids Opening Night with Scholastic Book Giveaway (first 250 fans – 3-12)

Saturday, April 5 – Fireworks, Famous Marylanders Tribute

Sunday, April 6, 2:05 p.m. – April Fool’s Day Celebration

Thursday, April 17 – Pi(e) Night

Friday, April 18 – Bellies & Baseball

Saturday, April 19, 2:05 p.m. – Wawa 50th Anniversary Celebration Event

Friday, May 2 – Fireworks

Saturday, May 3 – Fireworks presented by Prince George’s Community College

Sunday, May 4, 2:05 p.m. – Bark in the Park Day, Bud Light 1K Beer Run

Thursday, May 8 – Mystery Bobblehead Giveaway (first 250 fans – 6 and older), Mustache Mania, Charlie Chaplin’s 125th Birthday Celebration

Friday, May 9 – Fireworks, Soccer Night with DC United

Saturday, May 10 – Fireworks, Soccer Night with DC United

Sunday, May 11, 2:05 p.m. – Mother’s Day Celebration

Thursday, May 29 – Duck Dynasty Night with “Mountain Main” appearance presented by Miss Utility

Friday, May 30 – Girl’s Slumber Party & Girl Scout Lock-In

Saturday, May 31 – Fireworks, Knock Cancer Out of the Park Night

Sunday, June 1, 2:05 p.m. – Aces & Bases “Learn to Play Tennis” Event presented by U.S.T.A with Tennis Beach Ball Giveaway (first 500 kids – 10 and under), Educator Appreciation Day sponsored by Educational Systems Federal Credit Union, Family Day at the ballpark presented by Macy’s

Thursday, June 12 – Comedy Night with postgame comedy show featuring Steve Hofstetter (special ticket required), World Cup Soccer Celebration

Friday, June 13 – Fireworks, Mother/Son Night Out

Saturday, June 14 – Fireworks, Star Wars Night

Sunday, June 15 – 2:05 p.m. – Father’s Day Celebration, Meet the Team Day

Friday, June 20 – Fireworks, Boy/Cub Scout Campout, Ft. Meade Appreciation Night

Saturday, June 21 – Fireworks, Tribute to the Negro Leagues, Bud Light 1K Beer Run

Sunday, June 22, 2:05 p.m. – Orioles Pride Day with Manny Machado insulated jersey Lunch Bag Giveaway presented by the City of Bowie (first 500 fans – 13 and older)

Thursday, July 3 – RED, WHITE & BOOM Independence Day Celebration with postgame fireworks show

Friday, July 11 – Baysox Date Night

Saturday, July 12 – Fireworks, Women in Sports Event

Sunday, July 13, 6:05 p.m. – Football Kick off Party with appearance by BaltimoreRavens wide receiver Marlon Brown presented by 105.7 The Fan

Thursday, July 24 – Christmas Eve in July Celebration with “Manny Claus” Machado Bobblehead Giveaway (first 1,000 fans 13 and older)

Friday, July 25 – Fireworks, Daddy Daughter Date Night, Joint Base Andrews Night

Saturday, July 26 – Fireworks presented by Natelco, Superhero Night celebrating the 75th anniversary of Batman, Pre-game ROCKNOCEROS concert

Sunday, July 27, 6:05 p.m. – Tribute to comedian, actor & host of “The Tonight Show” Jimmy Fallon

Tuesday, Aug. 5 – Fireworks, Navy Night presented by Navy Federal Credit Union

Thursday, Aug. 7 – Travis Pastrana Bobblehead Giveaway (first 750 fans – 13 and older)

Friday, Aug. 15 – Fireworks, Military Heroes Baseball Card Set Giveaway presented by the Washington Post (first 1,000 fans – 18 and older), Family Campout Night

Saturday, Aug. 16 – Fireworks, Summer Reading Night sponsored by Educational Systems Federal Credit Union, Glow in the Park Night with Glow Stick Giveaway (First 3,000 fans)

Wednesday, Aug. 20 – Legends of Wrestling Night with Kurt Angle Appearance

Thursday, Aug. 21 – Baysox for a Buck Night, War of 1812 Night

Friday, Aug. 29 – Parents Night Out

Saturday, Aug. 30 – Fireworks, Kids Appreciation Day with Baysox Mini Bat Giveaway (first 500 kids – 3-12), Kids Halloween Party

Sunday, Aug. 31, 2:05 p.m. – Fan Appreciation Day with Baysox Knit Beanie Cap Giveaway (first 500 fans – 13 and older), Meet the Team Day

Baysox Baseball – We’ll Knock Your ‘Sox Off. The Baysox open the 2014 season, their 22nd as the class Double-A Affiliate of the Baltimore Orioles, at Prince George’s Stadium Thursday, April 3. To keep up with Baysox news during the offseason, visit baysox.com.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: LIFE IN THE AREA, OPINION, Sports

About the Author ()