Baysox Unveil Promotional Schedule For 2012 Season

| March 14, 2012 | 0 Comments

 

Bowie Baysox

Image via Wikipedia

The Bowie Baysox announce today the promotional schedule for the 2012 season.  The schedule includes 20 fireworks nights, a number of family-friendly events, multiple giveaways, recurring weekday events, a wide variety of theme nights and monkeys riding dogs around the field. 

Baysox Director of Marketing Brandan Kaiser looks forward to the fireworks.  “I think most fans would agree that the fireworks displays are some of the most exciting attractions we have,” Kaiser said. “We are excited to have them every Saturday night and some Friday and Sunday night games during the season.  We are also home for the Fourth of July this year, and we have an unbelievable display planned for that night.”

While the whole family can enjoy fireworks, the Baysox have a slew of activities planned for younger fans.  Baltimore-based kids rock band Milkshake returns to Prince George’s Stadium for a special pregame concert Saturday, June 2.  Two months later, kids can rock out with Washington D.C.-based family-friendly rock band Rocknoceros during another pregame concert Saturday, Aug. 4.  In addition to the pregame concerts, younger fans can enjoy special events for members of Louie’s Kids Club each month of the season. 

Louie’s Kids Club 2012 Events:

Sat.     April 7             Kids Capital Spring Fling                         12 p.m. – 1 p.m.

Sun.    May 27           Baseball Mini-Camp                                  2:05 p.m. 

Sat.     June 16          Louie’s Birthday Bash                              6:35 p.m.

Sat.     July 21            Superhero Night                                         6:35 p.m.

Sun.    Aug. 5             Louie’s Ice Cream Social                         6:05 p.m.

Kaiser helped Louie plan the events for the kids club.  “Louie and I think we have created some really fun events for this season,” Kaiser said.  “Any Baysox fans between the ages of 3 and 12 can join Louie’s Kids Club and the big green guy would really love to see some new faces along with his older friends at the events this season.” Kid’s Club registration is free and more information can be found at www.baysox.com.

Thursday evenings throughout the season generally feature giveaways, including magnet schedules on Opening Night, April 5, a Jake Arrieta bobblehead May 24, a City of Bowie 20th season logo pint glass June 14, and an Al Bumbry bobblehead July 19. In addition to the Thursday night giveaway items, fans can collect Baysox DAV baseball cards Saturday, July 21, an Elliot in the Morning bobblehead Wednesday, August 1, a Matt Wieters Golden Glove bobblearm Wednesday, August 15, a Matt Wieters Fathead (ages 3-12) Saturday, August 25, and a 20th season T-shirt (ages 13+) Sunday, Aug. 26.

The Baysox have weekly recurring promotions that last throughout the season.  Monday nights are Mutt Mondays, where fans can bring their dogs to the game.  On Tailgate Tuesdays, fans can enter the ballpark early for batting practice and enjoy $2 draft beer specials in the Bud Light Boathouse from 5 p.m. until 7 p.m. Tuesday is also Double Dog Deal Day where fans get two free regular Dietz & Watson hot dogs and a large bag of Cracker Jacks with the purchase of a regular price box seat ticket. One Wednesday of every month (starting in May) is Veteran’s Appreciation Night, where anyone able to show proof of military service can purchase a box seat ticket for $8. During Friday home games, the Baysox wear alternate black jerseys featuring the Pitching Fish logo and every Saturday game concludes with postgame fireworks (after the first weekend of the season). 

The recurring theme nights are not the only noteworthy events at the stadium this season.  The Baysox have a variety of theme nights planned, including fan favorites from past seasons and all-new events for the 2012 campaign. 

Baysox Promotions Manager Chris Rogers is excited to unveil the new events.  “Our fans love our recurring promotions like Negro League Tribute Night, Star Wars Night and Superhero Night,” Rogers said.  “It can be a tough balance between keeping old promotions and adding new events, but we enjoy trying to add variety to the events at the stadium.  This year, I think our fans will enjoy the new events like Hockey Night in Bowie, War of 1812 Night with a special fireworks show and the monkeys riding dogs during the Cowboy Monkey Rodeo.”

Each month of the season also features a beer dinner in the climate-controlled Diamond View Restaurant.  Tickets for the beer dinners are $45 per person, and include a two-hour all-you-can-eat buffet and three hour all-you-can-drink open bar.  Tickets for the beer dinners must be ordered at least 48 hours before the event.  For more information or to order tickets, fans may call (301) 464-4880

Complete schedule of 2012 Beer Dinners:

Thurs. April 19 –         Baysox Pub Tour  

Wed. May 16 –           Mardi Gras in May

Thurs. June 14 –         Caribbean Breeze

Thurs. July 19 –          Oktoberfest

Wed. Aug. 15 –          Beach Party

Thurs. Aug. 30 –         Football Kick-Off Party

New for the 2012 season, the Baysox have also introduced a new program aimed at seniors. The Silver Sox program is free to join and open to anyone age 60 and older. Throughout the season, the team is hosting four exclusive events for members of the Silver Sox program. For more information about joining the Silver Sox program, visit www.baysox.com or call 301-464-4855.

Community Programs Manager Kate Milstead helped design the new Silver Sox program. “I am extremely excited about the four events we have planned for our new exclusive program catered towards seniors,” Milstead said. “Whether you are interested in a wine tasting or enjoying a game with your grandchildren, the membership perks available through our Silver Sox program will be something you will enjoy.”

Complete schedule of 2012 Silver Sox Events:

Wed. May 23 –           Player and Manager Q & A Session     

Wed. June 13 –          Casino Night

Sun. July 22 –             Grandbabies to the Game

Wed. Aug. 29 –          Wine Tasting

Other notable promotions in 2012

Game times at 7:05 p.m. unless otherwise noted

Thursday, April 5 – Opening Night

Friday, April 6 – Dr. Seuss Tribute, Bookswap, Fireworks

Saturday, April 7, 2:05 p.m. – Play Today Soccer Event, Bookswap

Monday, April 9 – University of Maryland Baseball Team Appearance

Thursday, April 19 – Pi(e) Night

Friday, April 20 – Basketball Night, Play Today Basketball, Bookswap, Fireworks

Saturday, April 21, 6:35 p.m. – Basketball Night, Bookswap, Fireworks

Sunday, April 22, 2:05 p.m. – Catch on the Field Day, Sunday Brunch in the Park

Friday, May 4 – 80s Night, Bookswap, Fireworks

Saturday, May 5, 6:35 p.m. – Cinco de Mayo Celebration, Bookswap, Fireworks

Sunday, May 6, 2:05 p.m. – Bark in the Park

Wednesday, May 16 – Military Appreciation Night

Monday, May 21 – End of the World Extravaganza

Thursday, May 24 – Mom’s Night Out, Jake Arrieta bobblehead giveaway, Mane-ly

                                    May Celebration with Locks of Love.

Friday, May 25 – Mustache Mania

Saturday, May 26, 6:35 p.m. – 1K Beer Run, 90s Night, Fireworks

Sunday, May 27, 2:05 p.m. – Bowie’s Largest Pillow Fight, Play Today Baseball

Friday, June 1 – Girl Scout Lock-In

Saturday, June 2, 6:35 p.m. – Milkshake Concert, Pack the Park in Pink with Jersey Auction (Susan G. Komen for the Cure), Fireworks

Sunday, June 3, 2:05 p.m. – Educator Appreciation Day, Food Allergy Day, Zumba Fitness Fest

Wednesday, June 13 – Military Appreciation Night, Legends of Wrestling Event with appearance by Bret “The Hitman” Hart

Thursday, June 14 – City of Bowie 20th Season Pint Glass giveaway

Friday, June 15 – Boy Scout Campout, Fireworks

Saturday, June 16, 6:35 p.m. – Negro League Tribute Night, Play Today Lacrosse Event, Fireworks

Sunday, June 17, 2:05 p.m. – Father’s Day Picnic, Meet the Team, Catch on the Field

Friday, June 22 – Autism Awareness Evening, Hockey Night in Bowie with retired

NHL Players

Saturday, June 23, 6:35 p.m. – Star Wars Night, Fireworks

Sunday, June 24, 2:05 p.m. – Cowboy Monkey Rodeo, Country Day

Sunday, July 1, 8:00 a.m. – Bowie Baysox 5K

Wednesday, July 4, 6:05 p.m. – Independence Day BBQ, Red, White and Boom Fireworks Extravaganza

Friday, July 6 – Date Night at the Diamond

Saturday, July 7, 6:35 p.m. – Margaritaville, Fireworks

Sunday, July 8, 6:05 p.m. – Faith and Family Event

Thursday, July 19 – Daddy/Daughter Date Night, Al Bumbry Bobblehead giveaway

Friday, July 20 – Heroes Night, Fireworks

Saturday, July 21, 6:35 p.m. – Superhero Night, Play Today Football, Fireworks

Sunday, July 22, 6:05 p.m. – Bookswap, Fireworks

Wednesday, July 25 – Military Appreciation Night, Christmas in July Dinner

Wednesday, Aug. 1 – DC101 Night with Elliot in the Morning Bobblehead giveaway

Friday, Aug. 3 – Navy Night, Family Campout, Fireworks

Saturday, Aug. 4, 6:35 p.m. – Rocknocerous Concert, All-American Girls

Professional Baseball League Tribute, Fireworks

Sunday, Aug. 5, 6:05 p.m. – Football Event, Play Today Swimming Event

Tuesday, Aug. 14 – Halfway to Valentine’s Day Celebration with Blood Drive

Wednesday, Aug. 15 – Military Appreciation Night, Matt Weiters Golden Glove Bobblearm giveaway

Thursday, Aug. 16 – Elvis’ 35th Annual Going Away Party

Thursday, Aug. 23 – Baysox for a Buck

Friday, Aug. 24 – War of 1812 Night, Fireworks and Flames Show

Saturday, Aug. 25, 6:35 p.m. – Kids Appreciation Night, Fireworks

Sunday, Aug. 26, 2:05 p.m. – Meet the Team Day, Fan Appreciation Day, Catch on the Field

Baysox Baseball – We’ll Knock Your ‘Sox Off. The Baysox open their 20th season at Prince George’s Stadium Thursday, April 5 against the Harrisburg Senators at 7:05 p.m. To keep up with Baysox news during the offseason, follow the Baysox on Facebook at www.facebook.com/BowieBaysox or visit www.baysox.com.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: LIFE IN THE AREA, OPINION, Sports

About the Author ()